Get the latest
Fashion, Beauty & Shopping News

Sign
Up!

Tech

Wait! Do These 6 Things Before Selling Your Phone

By  | 

All set to trade your old smartphone for a brand new one? That’s awesome! But before you make the switch to a shiny new toy, make sure to read our handy checklist of things you absolutely must do before your old phone leaves your hands for the final time. There’s no such thing as being too safe – especially when it comes to your personal information.

1. Back It Up

The first thing you should do before hitting the delete button is to back up your data – you’ll be surprised how few people actually do this, then kick themselves when things get deleted and cannot be recovered. Do yourself a favour and get a good external hard drive to safely store your information – this includes all your photos, videos, contacts and important documents. (You should even back up your laptop, in case you aren’t already doing that).

2. Pick the Pics

Photos are very personal, and you don’t want the new owner of your phone to misuse your precious memories. After you’ve taken a back-up, make sure to erase all the photos in your phone as well as the memory card, even the ones in hidden folders and your ‘Recently Deleted’ folder.

3. Clear Contacts

How would you feel if someone was sending unpleasant text or spam messages to your friends and family just because you forgot to clean up your contact list? It’s a wise decision to export your phone contacts to your PC or the cloud, before deleting them from your device.

4. Log out of social media

Ensure that you’ve logged out of ALL social media accounts, including Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Skype, LinkedIN, Snapchat, etc. The same goes for your Gmail or other email apps. If you use an iPhone, turn off iMessage and FaceTime. Also disable your iCloud account if you use an iPhone, before logging out from your device’s app store.

5. Clear Autofill

Remember that time when you got super bored of typing your passwords over and over again and selected the “remember password” option on your browser? Clear your browser’s cache, history and autofill.

6. Restore Factory Settings

After all of this is done, the last and final step is to restore to factory settings. This will delete all the stuff you’ve ever downloaded or saved.

GET HAUTERFLY IN YOUR INBOX!

COMING UP NEXT >

Shraddha Kapoor Slays The Latest Trends At Haseena Parkar Promos!

Leave a Reply